Note-taking apps on the Mac

Here, I focus on the apps that are quick to write notes.  They are not complete writing studio.  They are measured by how they are efficient to feed turn the ideas to notes. Here, I have the comparison of my favorite apps I tried recently.

Criteria Curiota NoteAway Tab Notes Unclutter NvALT TaskCard Devonthink sorter
Transparent file storage in Finder (library in Documents folder) x x
Supports RTF and RTFD it is a sort of rtfd; but it is ntRTFD extension x x x
Permits direct assignment of Finder tags x x x x
Transparent file naming (the title of the note is the file name) adds further junk x x x
menu bar icon for quick jotting
Quick note inserting shortcut

Curiota and Devonthink Sorter come at the top. If Curiota permits direct assignment of tags, it would be the perfect app to quickly drop notes. I would like to hear if there is an app that satisfies all the tests.

2 thoughts on “Note-taking apps on the Mac

    1. The problem with Bear is –it uses internal database. You cannot search your files from Spotlight or index them in Devonthink– unless you export them. That is why I put “transparent file storage” as a criterion for my jotting app.

      –But, I agree, Bear is a good writing software.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.