A short Comparison of (Multi)markdown editors

 

 

  • Scrivener: unless I have combined it with Marked, Scrivener can not live preview the text.
  • Marked: Marked is not an editor by itself. It is rather just a viewer for the text. So, it can help me in complement with others, but not a real editor by itself. he problem with Marked is: it doesn’t seem to support MMD, as the tables are getting misplaced, I observed
  • Byword: many people seem to like this app, but, seems really blank text editor. May be, I have to check it back, but now, I don’t like it.
  • Markdown Pro: this seems a great editor. There is no much fancy preference here either; but it can preview and edit at the same time + nice themes are available to it. It has a spell-checker and copy as HTML features, both are great for publishing in a blog. A JosephCrawford has suggested to additional features for MD Pro– sync scrolling and project management–both of which I totally second.
  • nvAlt: is probably the best of all, as it is already my favorite text editor anyways. As it does manage notes, and synchronize with Simplenote, as well as edit MMD, nvAlt is indispensable any ways. The point about nvALT is, I don’t want to use it serious academic writing. I want to keep it for simple, personal notes. More powerful tools such as scrivener are my choices for the academic stuff.
  • IAwriter: Anther popular editor. Many people seem to like it for the minimalist environment it creates. Probably, that is a great idea. I also like the interface of the app. But, it can not preview, which is crucial to correct my mistakes immediately and see if I am doing it write. It also can not copy the MMD text to HTML. So, it is easy for me to decide about it: trashed! I would finally say, there is nothing that Markdown Pro lacks and IAwriter and Byword have.

I have heard of two other great MMD editors: MMD composer and Folding Text. Until I try them, I will use nvAlt and Markdown Pro. The former for personal notes; the latter for star up drafting of my academic works before they finally go to Scrivener. The idea is, I will write the text in MD pro until it grows complex, beyond a few pages, say 5 pages, and them move it to Scrivener to fully develop it.

5 thoughts on “A short Comparison of (Multi)markdown editors

What do you think?

